Alaska Real Estate Exam Info

HOW TO OBTAIN AN ALASKA REAL ESTATE LICENSE

In Alaska, exams, licensing, and continuing education for real estate agents are governed by the Alaska Real Estate Commission.

There are three basic real estate licenses in Alaska:

  • Salesperson: a person working in the office of a real estate broker as an employee or independent contractor.
  • Associate Broker: a person who has met the qualifications to become a broker but continues to work in association with another broker rather than having a business of his/her own.
  • Broker: a person who operates his/her own real estate business or acts as a broker for a corporation or partnership.

To obtain the Salesperson's license, a person must:

  • Be a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident.
  • Be at least 19 years old.
  • Not be under indictment for forgery, theft, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or any other felony implying character untrustworthiness.
  • If ever convicted of any of the specified felony charges, the complete sentence must have been served.
  • Complete 20 classroom hours approved pre-licensing education.

To obtain the Associate Broker's license, a person must:

  • Be a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident.
  • Not be under indictment for forgery, theft, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or any other felony implying character untrustworthiness.
  • A person who has been convicted of a felony of one of the types listed above may not be granted an associate broker's license until five years after the complete sentence has been served.
  • Complete 15 classroom hours approved broker training.
  • Been a licensed salesperson for 24 consecutive months within the last 48, and real estate must have been his/her principal occupation.
  • Must have passed the broker's exam and be affiliated with a licensed broker.

To obtain the Broker's license, a person must:

  • Be a U.S. citizen or lawful permanent resident.
  • Not be under indictment for forgery, theft, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or any other felony implying character untrustworthiness.
  • A person who has been convicted of a felony of one of the types listed above may not be granted an associate broker's license until five years after the complete sentence has been served.
  • Complete 15 classroom hours approved broker training.
  • Completed 24 consecutive months within the last 36 as a licensed salesperson, and real estate must have been his/her principal occupation
  • Must either own a real estate business or work as the broker for a corporation or partnership.
  • A corporation or partnership can have only one broker in charge. If a second person, meeting the qualifications of a broker, holds an ownership position or is employed by the company, that person is considered an associate broker.
  • Must have passed the broker's exam

Examination
There are two levels of examination: salesperson and broker. The Real Estate Commission contracts with Promissor Testing Services of Philadelphia, PA to prepare, administer and grade both versions of the exam.

The Commission is responsible for establishing exam contents, but Promissor retains full copyright over its examinations including the portions covering the Alaska statutes and regulations.

The examination is administered electronically and offered weekly in Anchorage, semi-monthly in Fairbanks and quarterly in Juneau. The fee is $100.

The exam may be provided at other locations on an individual request basis for an additional $50 fee. A candidate guide, prepared by the testing service, is available for download below or via written request to the Alaska Real Estate Commission.