Delaware Real Estate Exam Info


To apply for a Resident Salesperson's License
1 - Complete a 99 hour prelicensing course accredited by the Delaware Real Estate Commission.
2- Pass the two-part standardized salesperson licensing examination. Following completion of the course, one is eligible to sit a maximum of three times for the two part standardized licensing examination administered by a professional testing service.
3 - Submit the original application distributed by the testing service upon successful completion of the examination to the Commission within one year of the completion of the prelicensing course. The pro-rated license fee and the Guaranty Fund fee of $25.00 payable to the "State of Delaware", a copy of your prelicensing course certificate, and any other documentation listed on the application must be included with your application.
Submit an affidavit that the applicant has not engaged in any acts or offenses that would be grounds for discipline pursuant to 24 Del. C., Chapter 29, section 2907(a)(4).

To apply for a Resident Broker's License
1 - Meet an experience requirement by having practiced real estate as a licensee for a continuous period of five (5) years immediately prior to applying for the license and have accrued at least 30 qualified sales transactions within the past five (5) years.
2 - Complete a 99 hour broker's course accredited by the Delaware Real Estate Commission.
3 - Pass the two part standardized broker licensing examination which is administered by a professional testing service.
4 - Submit the original application distributed by the testing service upon successful completion of the examination to the Commission within one year of the completion of the broker course. The pro-rated license fee payable to the "State of Delaware", a copy of your broker course certificate, and any other documentation listed on the application must be included with your application in addition to a current original personal credit report from a major credit reporting bureau, and a list of 30 sales transactions made within the last five (5) years certified by the broker of record at the time of the transactions. The format for the list of sales includes the buyers' and sellers' names, address of the property, type of property, price, date of settlement, and signature of the broker of record.
5 - Submit an affidavit that the applicant has not engaged in any acts or offenses that would be grounds for discipline pursuant to 24 Del. C., Chapter 29, 2907(a)(4).

Please note terms "resident" and "nonresident" as used herein refer to the principal business location, not the applicant's personal residence.

To apply for a nonresident license if one is currently licensed and practicing within another state:
1 - Complete the state law portion of the two part Delaware licensing examination for either a broker or salesperson's license. No additional education is required for those applicants who will be affiliated with a broker's office outside the State of Delaware. Please refer to the License Law and Rules and Regulations for most issues covered by the state law portion of the examination. Other points of Real Estate law may be researched through online publications. Refer to the "Candidate Handbook" on the testing service web site for information concerning the examination process.
2 - Submit the original application distributed by the testing service upon successful completion of the examination to the Commission within one year of the completion of the examination. The pro-rated fee and the Guaranty Fund fee of $25.00 payable to the "State of Delaware," a copy of your current license from the other jurisdiction, certificate or certificates of licensure history for any states in which you are presently or were previously licensed, and any other documentation listed on the application must be included with your application. Broker applicants must also submit a current original credit report from a major credit reporting bureau and a list of 30 sales transactions made within the last five (5) years certified by the broker of record at the time of the transactions. The format for the list of sales includes the buyers' and sellers' names, address of the property, type of property, price, date of settlement, and signature of the broker of record.

Note: If you intend to affiliate with a resident Delaware licensed broker whose office is inside the State of Delaware, you may be required to complete additional prelicensing education credit in order to acquire a "resident" license. Delaware has a 99 hour prelicensing course requirement. Delaware does not credit continuing education hours from another jurisdiction toward the prelicensing requirement. You must acquire any deficit hours owed from a Delaware approved prelicensing course provider.

For more information please refer to http://www.dpr.delaware.gov/