Florida Real Estate Exam Info

Florida Real Estate License Requirements

Sales Associate License Requirements
  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Have high school diploma or GED
  • Complete and pass the state approved 63 hour Sales Associate Pre-License course
  • Submit application to the Division of Real Estate with the appropriate fee
  • Pass the state exam
  • Exceptions to the above:
    • Attorneys with a current Florida Bar Card
    • 4 year Degree in Real Estate

NEW Broker's License Requirements - Effective July 1, 2008

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Have high school diploma or GED
  • Complete and pass the state approved 72 hour Brokers Pre-License course
  • Hold an active Sales Associate license for 24 months out of the past 5 years
  • Completed applicable post license education
  • Submit application to the Division of Real Estate with the appropriate fee
  • Pass the state exam
  • Exceptions to the above:
    • 4 year Degree in Real Estate

Real Estate Associate

1 - Successfully complete a FREC-approved pre-licensing course for sales associates consisting of 63 classroom-hours and covering the topics required by the FREC. The course is valid for licensure purposes for two years after the course completion date. Licensees with a permanent physical disability as defined by FREC may qualify for a correspondence pre-licensing course if unable, due to a permanent physical disability, to attend the site where the course is conducted.

2 - Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and appropriate fee (may submit this packa ge prior to completing Step 1).

3 - Pass the Florida Real Estate Exam with a grade of at least 75 or pass the Florida Real Estate Law Exam with a grade of at least 30.

4 - Submit a completed RE-2050-1 form to activate the license, otherwise the license is issued in an inactive status. If you want to immediately begin working as a real estate sales associate, submit the completed RE 2050-1 form at the examination site. Otherwise, submit the RE 2050-1 form to the Division of Real Estate.

5 - Whether holding an active or inactive license, successfully complete a FREC-approved post-licensing course for sales associate consisting of at least 45 classroom-hours, prior to the expiration of the initial sales associate license.

Real Estate Broker

1 - Hold an active real estate sales associate license and complete 12 months real estate experience during the 5 year period preceding becoming licensed as a broker or a licensed real estate sales associate or broker who has real estate experience in another state may apply the experience toward a Florida real estate broker license if the applicant has held an active sales associate or a valid broker license for at least 12 months during the preceding 5 years. If the applicant is claiming experience from a jurisdiction other than Florida , attach to the application a current certification of real estate license history (not more than one year old) from the licensing agency of that jurisdiction. The real estate license must have been obtained from the real estate licensing authority by completing its education and examination requirements. NOTE: If the applicant holds a Florida real estate sales associate license (s)he must fulfill the sales associate post-licensing education requirement before being eligible to obtain a broker license. This method does not exempt a sales associate who holds a Florida sales associate license from successfully completing the sales associate post-licensing course.

2 - Successfully complete a FREC approved pre-licensing course for brokers consisting of 72 classroom hours and covering the topics required by the FREC. The course is valid for licensure purposes for two years after the course completion date. Applicants with a permanent physical disability as defined by FREC Rule 61J2-3.013(2) may qualify for a correspondence pre-licensing course if unable, due to a permanent physical disability, to attend the site where the course is conducted.

3 - Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and appropriate fee (may submit this package prior to completing Step 2).

4 - Pass the Florida Real Estate Broker Exam with a grade of at least 75.

5 - Submit a completed RE-2050-1 form to activate the license, otherwise the license is issued in an inactive status. If you want to immediately begin working as a real estate sales associate, submit the completed RE 2050-1 form at the examination site. Otherwise, submit the RE 2050-1 form to the Division of Real Estate.

6 - Successfully complete a FREC-approved post-licensing course for brokers consisting of at least 60 classroom hours prior to the expiration of the initial broker license.