Kansas Real Estate Exam Info

What is required to get a license?

For Salesperson:

  • Proof of age 18 and above.
  • Proof of completion of 60 hour Pre-License Education (Principles of Real Estate course for 30 hours and Kansas Practice course for 30 hours).
  • You must have a high school diploma or equivalent.
  • Complete and pass the real estate examination.
  • Completed and signed application form issued at the testing center.
  • You must provide Fingerprint cards with the form, which are available from course providers, at KS licensing exam centers, or may be requested from the Kansas Real Estate Commission.
  • Your application must be signed by a supervising or branch broker who will be responsible for supervising the your real estate activities and who will certify you are honest, trustworthy and of good reputation.
  • Fees: Examination Fees (Salesperson: $82). License (Salesperson: $calculate fee here)

For Brokers:

  • Proof of age 18 and above.
  • Proof of completion of 24 hour Pre-License Education.
  • You must have a high school diploma or equivalent.
  • Complete and pass the real estate examination.
  • Completed and signed application form issued at the testing center.
  • You must provide Fingerprint cards with the form, which are available from course providers, at KS licensing exam centers, or may be requested from the Kansas Real Estate Commission.
  • Your application must be signed by a supervising broker or a branch broker if you are not applying to be a supervising broker.
  • If you are applying to be a supervising broker or branch broker of a new office, complete the Open Company Form.
  • Complete the experience section of the application in detail and a resume. You must have been licensed as a salesperson in Kansas, or as a salesperson or broker in another state and actively engaged for at least 2 years out of the last 5 years in activities which require a license in Kansas. Experience in the real estate or a related business or a combination of such experience and education may be accepted if the Commission believes it qualifies the applicant to act as a broker.
  • Fees: Examination Fees (Broker: $82). License (Broker: $calculate fee here).

What score do I need to pass?

The salesperson exam has two portions, general practice and State Law 80 general practice questions and 30 State Law questions. To determine a score a statistical procedure known as equating is used to correct for differences in form difficulty. The passing score of an examination was set after a comprehensive study. The examination score is reported as a scaled score on a scale of 0-100, but it should not be interpreted as the percentage or number of questions answered correctly. With a passing score of 70, any score below 70 indicates how close the candidate came to passing, and not the actual number or percentage of questions answered correctly.

The broker exam consists of 80 general practice questions and 40 State Law questions. Equating is also used to score this examination and the passing score for brokers is 70.

You will receive your score immediately after you complete your exam.

How much time do I have to complete the exam?

  • For the salesperson and broker exam you are allowed a total of 4 hours.

What should I bring with me for the exam?

  • 2 Forms of identification with matching names, non-expired and containing a valid signature. (Driver’s license, passport, green card, U.S. social security card, debit or credit card with signature). If your name on your registration is different than on your identification, you must bring proof of your name change.
  • Basic (non-scientific) calculator.

What is the format of the exam?

The exam is given on a computer.

What is on the exam?

The general portion consists of the following sections:

  • Real property characteristics, definitions, ownership, restrictions, and transfer
  • Forms of ownership, transfer, and recording of title
  • Property value and appraisal
  • Real estate contracts and agency
  • Real estate practice
  • Property disclosures and environmental issues
  • Financing and settlement
  • Real estate math calculations

The State portion includes:

  • Duties and powers of the Kansas real estate commission
  • Licensing requirement
  • Requirements governing activities of licensees
  • Prohibited acts
  • Brokerage relationships in real estate transactions act
  • Kansas real estate recovery revolving fund

Resources