Louisiana Real Estate Exam Info

What is required to get a license?

For salespersons:

  • Completed application form.
  • High school diploma or equivalency certificate (GED).
  • Proof of completion of 90 hours of real estate education in approved courses.
  • Real estate examination successfully completed.
  • Criminal background history submission.
  • Proof of age 18 and above.
  • Be sponsored by a licensed real estate broker and provide proof of errors and omissions insurance prior to license issuance.
  • Fees: Examination Fees (Salesperson: $85). License (Salesperson: $45, Processing fee: $25).

For brokers:

  • Completed application form.
  • You must have been actively licensed as a real estate salesperson for at least four years, with two of the four years occurring immediately before the submission of a broker license application, in any state or jurisdiction.
  • High school diploma or equivalency certificate (GED).
  • Proof of completion of 150 classroom hours of real estate education in approved courses or its equivalent.
  • Proof of age 18 and above.
  • Real estate examination successfully completed.
  • Criminal background history submission.
  • Proof of mandatory errors and omissions insurance prior to issuance of license.
  • Fees: Examination Fees (Broker: $85). License (broker: $120, Processing fee: $25).

What score do I need to pass?

The broker exam consists of 80 national questions and 55 state-specific questions. To pass, you must correctly answer at least 60 questions from the national portion and 40 from the state portion.

The salesperson exam consists of 80 national questions and 55 state-specific questions. To pass, you must correctly answer at least 56 questions from the national portion and 40 from the state portion.

You will receive your score immediately after you complete your exam.

How much time do I have to complete the exam?

For the broker exam: you are allowed 105 minutes for the national portion and 75 minutes for the state portion, for a total of 180 minutes.

For the salesperson exam: you are allowed 105 minutes for the national portion and 75 minutes for the state portion, for a total of 180 minutes.

What should I bring with me for the exam?

  • 2 Forms of identification with matching names, non-expired and containing a valid signature. (Driver’s license, passport, green card, U.S. social security card, debit or credit card with signature).
  • Basic (non-scientific) calculator.

What is the format of the exam?

The exam is given on a computer and is multiple choice.

What is on the exam?

The national portion consists of the following sections:

  • Property Ownership
  • Land Use Controls and Regulations
  • Valuation and Market Analysis
  • Financing
  • General Principles of Agency
  • Property Condition and Disclosures
  • Contracts
  • Transfer of Title
  • Practice of Real Estate
  • Real Estate Calculations
  • Subdivisions
  • Commercial, Industrial, and Income Properties

The state-specific portion consists of the following sections:

  • Duties and Powers of Real Estate Commission
  • Licensing Requirements
  • Statutory Requirements Governing the Activities of Licensees
  • Louisiana Civil Law System
  • Louisiana Law of Agency

Resources