Maine Real Estate Exam Info

What is required to get a license?

For sales agents:

  • Proof of age 18 and above.
  • Proof of completion of Pre-License Education.
  • You must have a high school diploma or equivalent.
  • Complete and pass the real estate examination.
  • Login to apply or complete the application form.
  • Fees: Examination Fees (Leasing Agent: $85). License (Leasing Agent: $121 which includes criminal record checking fee)

For associate brokers:

  • Proof of age 18 and above.
  • Proof of completion of Pre-License Education.
  • You must have a high school diploma or equivalent.
  • Login to apply or complete the application form.
  • Your must have two years practice as an actively licensed sales agent within the 5 years immediately preceding the date of application.
  • Do not submit your application any sooner than 30 days prior to the expiration date of your sales agent license.
  • Fees: Examination Fees (Associate Broker: $85). License (Associate Broker: $121 which includes criminal record checking fee)

For brokers:

  • Proof of age 18 and above.
  • Proof of completion of Pre-License Education.
  • You must have a high school diploma or equivalent.
  • You must have been licensed as an associate broker affiliated with a real estate brokerage agency for 2 years within the 5 years immediately preceding the date of application.
  • Login to apply or complete the application form.
  • If you are applying at the end of the first two years, do not submit your application any sooner than 30 days prior to the expiration date of your Associate Broker license.
  • Fees: Examination Fees (Broker: $85). License (Broker: $121 which includes criminal record checking fee).

What score do I need to pass?

The sales agent exam has two portions, general practice and Maine Law 80 general practice questions and 40 Maine Law questions. To determine a score a statistical procedure known as equating is used to correct for differences in form difficulty. The passing score of an examination was set by the Maine Real Estate Commission (in conjunction with Pearson VUE) after a comprehensive study. The examination score is reported as a scaled score on a scale of 0-100, but it should not be interpreted as the percentage or number of questions answered correctly. With a passing score of 75, any score below 75 indicates how close the candidate came to passing, and not the actual number or percentage of questions answered correctly.

The associate broker and broker don’t need to present an additional exam, they just need to complete the pre-licensing education requirements with a minimum score of 75%.

You will receive your score immediately after you complete your exam.

How much time do I have to complete the exam?

  • For the sales agent exam you are allowed a total of 4 hours.

What should I bring with me for the exam?

  • 2 Forms of identification with matching names, non-expired and containing a valid signature. (Driver’s license, passport, green card, U.S. social security card, debit or credit card with signature). If your name on your registration is different than on your identification, you must bring proof of your name change.
  • Basic (non-scientific) calculator.

What is the format of the exam?

The exam is given on a computer.

What is on the exam?

The general portion consists of the following sections:

  • Real property characteristics, definitions, ownership, restrictions, and transfer
  • Property valuation
  • Contracts and relationships with buyers and sellers
  • Property conditions and disclosures
  • Risk management
  • Federal laws governing real estate activities
  • Financing the transaction and settlement
  • Leases, rents, and property management
  • Brokerage operations
  • Ethical and legal business practices

The Maine Law portion includes:

  • Maine real estate commission
  • Maine laws and rules governing activities of licensees
  • Law of agency/brokerage
  • Maine-specific principles and practices
  • Maine land-use law

Resources