North Carolina Real Estate Exam Info
What is required to get a license?
- Proof of age 18 and above.
- Proof of completion of 75 hours pre license education.
- You must have a social security number.
- You must fill an application online (preferably) or file a paper application by regular mail before taking the real estate exam.
- You will be asked to take a background check, this option must be selected while applying online and guides you through the process. If you are filing a paper application you have to order a criminal record report from CriminalRecordCheck.com (CRC), Website: www.ncreccheck.com
Email: [email protected], Telephone (toll free): 877-272-0266 Ext 2651, Telephone (direct): 919-459-2651.
- You must take and pass the real estate exam.
- Fees: Examination Fees (Broker: $64) License (broker: $100).
What score do I need to pass?
The exam consists of 100 national questions and 40 state specific questions. To pass, you must answer correctly at least 71 questions from the national portion and 29 questions from the state portion.
You will receive your score immediately after you complete your exam.
How much time do I have to complete the exam?
- You are allowed a total of 2.5 hours for the national portion and 1.5 hours for the state specific portion.
What should I bring with me for the exam?
- 2 Forms of identification with matching names, non-expired and containing a valid signature. (Driver’s license, passport, green card, U.S. social security card, debit or credit card with signature). One of them must be government issued and photo bearing.
- An online calculator will be provided.
What is the format of the exam?
The exam is given on a computer.
What is on the exam?
The national portion of the exam consists of the following topics:
- Agency Relationships and Contracts
- Real Property Ownership/Interest
- Real Property
- Marketing Regulations (Purchase and Rental)
- Property Management
- Real Estate Calculations
The state specific portion of the exam consists of:
- N.C. Real Estate License Law and Commission Rules
- Other North Carolina Laws and Practices
- General Real Estate Topics