New Mexico Real Estate Exam Info

What is required to get a license?

For associate brokers:

  • Complete application form found on the 11th page, mailed to: New Mexico Real Estate Commission, 5500 San Antonio Dr. NE Suite B, Albuquerque, NM 87109, 505.222.9820 • 800.801.7505.
  • Complete three 30-hour pre-licensing courses in Real Estate Principles and Practice, Real Estate Law, and Broker Basics.
  • Real estate examination successfully completed with written score report.
  • Proof of age 18 and above.
  • Must be a legal resident in the United States.
  • Completed Fingerprint Certification Form documenting that they have submitted two fingerprint cards to the New Mexico Department of Public Safety ($44).
  • Certificate of insurance documenting that they have a current errors and omissions insurance policy.
  • Post licensing education required: 30 hour New Broker Business Practices course within 1 year after the license is issued.
  • Fees: Examination Fees (Associate Broker: $95). License (Associate Broker: $270).

For brokers:

  • Complete application form found on the 11th page, mailed to: New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department, New Mexico Real Estate Commission, 5500 San Antonio Dr., NE Suite B - Albuquerque, New Mexico 87109, (505) 222-9820 - Fax (505) 222-9886 - Toll Free (800) 801-7505.
  • Document that your associate broker’s or equivalent license has been on active status with a real estate brokerage for two of the last five years immediately preceding your application.
  • Certificate of completion of the Commission-approved 30-hour Brokerage Office Administration course.
  • Brokers who were salespersons on January 1, 2006 must document that they have met the requirements for and passed the associate broker’s examination prior to being issued a qualifying broker’s license.
    *Completed Fingerprint Certification Form documenting that they have submitted two fingerprint cards to the New Mexico Department of Public Safety ($44).
  • Certificate of insurance documenting that they have a current errors and omissions insurance policy.
  • Fees: Examination Fees (Broker: $95). License (broker: $270).

What score do I need to pass?

The associate broker exam consists of 80 national questions and 50 state-specific questions. To pass, you must correctly answer at least 60 questions from the national portion and 38 for the state portion.

The broker exam consists of 80 national questions and 50 state-specific questions. To pass, you must correctly answer at least 60 questions from the national portion and 38 for the state portion.

You will receive your score immediately after you complete your exam.

How much time do I have to complete the exam?

  • For the associate broker exam: you are allowed 120 minutes for the national portion and 60 minutes for the state portion, for a total of 180 minutes.

  • For the broker exam: you are allowed 120 minutes for the national portion and 60 minutes for the state portion, for a total of 180 minutes.

What should I bring with me for the exam?

  • 2 Forms of identification with matching names, non-expired and containing a valid signature, one of them must be photo bearing (Driver’s license, passport, green card, U.S. social security card, debit or credit card with signature).
  • Basic, silent, non-scientific calculator.

What is the format of the exam?

The exam is given on a computer and is multiple choice.

What is on the exam?

The national portion consists of the following sections:

  • Property Ownership
  • Land Use Controls and Regulations
  • Valuation and Market Analysis
  • Financing
  • General Principles of Agency
  • Property Condition and Disclosures
  • Contracts
  • Transfer of Title
  • Practice of Real Estate
  • Real Estate Calculations
  • Specialty areas

The state-specific portion consists of the following sections:

  • Real Estate Commission
  • Licensing Requirements
  • Real Estate Commission Regulations
  • Broker Duties, Disclosure and Brokerage Relationships
  • Additional State-Required Topics

Resources