Texas Real Estate Exam Info


Applying to Become a Texas Real Estate Salesperson

To be eligible to apply for a real estate Salesperson License, an individual must be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien, eighteen (18) years of age or older and a legal resident of Texas.

To be eligible to apply for a real estate Salesperson License, an individual must furnish the Commission satisfactory evidence of successfully completing the following education:

Principles of Real Estate core real estate class - 60 classroom hours
Law of Agency core real estate class - 30 classroom hours
Law of Contracts core real estate class - 30 classroom hours
An additional four semester - 60 classroom, hours in core classes or in related classes acceptable to the Commission.

Evidence of successful completion shall be presented via credit transcript or certificate prior to filing a Salesperson License Application form. DO NOT submit original transcripts and/or class completion certificates. Keep the originals for your personal files and send photocopies to the Commission.
To be eligible to apply for a real estate Salesperson License you must first obtain a letter from the Commission attesting to satisfaction of all education requirements.THE EVALUATION OF EDUCATION DOCUMENTS MUST BE PERFORMED BEFORE THE APPLICATION CAN BE FILED.
To obtain an evaluation of your education documents, submit a REQUEST FOR EVALUATION OF EDUCATION DOCUMENTS along with a recent photograph.

A fee of $20 is required for the evaluation of education documents for the purpose of determining if education requirements have been satisfied. This fee is good for one year. Please submit copies of your transcripts or class certificates with your request for evaluation. DO NOT submit original documents.
The following required fees must be submitted at the time of filing an application. AN APPLICATION RECEIVED WITHOUT THE APPROPRIATE FEES WILL BE REJECTED AND RETURNED. The following fees should be submitted in ONE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER payable to the Texas Real Estate Commission. ALL FEES LISTED BELOW ARE NONREFUNDABLE.
Fees Required with Real Estate Salesperson License Application
Fee Amount Comment
Original Application $67.50 Required for all applicants
Recovery Fund $10.00 Required for all applicants unless previously paid

NEW! File your Salesperson Application and Pay for it Online!
License examinations are administered by PSI. Once your application has been received, processed and accepted, a Candidate Information Brochure (CIB) will be mailed to you within 48 hours. The CIB will provide all the information and instructions for making a reservation to take the examination. The CIB also contains study material and instructions about licensing (Note: you may download a copy of the CIB from PSI's web site via the Candidate Info. Brochure link in the menu on the left side of this web page).
The filing of an application authorizes an investigation of the applicant's background. Information revealed in an investigation may be cause for disapproval of an application even though other requirements for a license are met. If an investigation is necessary, it may not be conducted until the applicant has passed the examination.
State law prohibits issuing more than one license once a licensee has defaulted on a student loan guaranteed by the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation (TGSLC) unless the licensee has entered into a repayment agreement with TGSLC. YOU SHOULD CONTACT TGSLC BEFORE FILING THIS APPLICATION if you have defaulted on a student loan. An application or renewal may be rejected if this agency has received information from TGSLC that the applicant has defaulted on a student loan. The Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation can be contacted at:


Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation
P.O. Box 15996
Austin, Texas 78761-5996
Telephone: 1-800-222-6297

Before you can practice as a licensed salesperson you must arrange for a Texas real estate broker holding an active license to sponsor you as a salesperson. Applicants and inactive salespersons are not authorized to act as real estate agents.
While you are not required to have a sponsoring broker to file an application for a license, a sponsorship request form is included with the application materials. If you wish, you may file the sponsorship request along with the application. There is a separate $20 fee for filing the sponsorship request. DO NOT COMBINE THE $20 FEE WITH ANY OTHER FEE SUBMITTED TO TREC. Once all licensing requirements have been satisfied, TREC will send an active salesperson license to the broker, and you may act for the broker on receipt of the license.
You may also file the application and arrange for sponsorship after TREC notifies you that you have been issued an inactive license. Once a broker holding an active license has mailed a request to TREC to act as your sponsor and paid the $20 fee, you may begin to act for the broker as a salesperson.
The time involved in processing an application depends on work volume. Inquiry as to the status of an application delays processing work. Inquiry should not be made unless there is reason to believe that information submitted to the Commission has not been received.
An incomplete application will not be returned for completion. A letter will be mailed requesting the incomplete information.
The examination must be passed within six months from the date the application is filed with the commission office.
You are not authorized to perform any act for which a real estate license is required until an ACTIVE Texas Real Estate Commission license is in the possession of your sponsoring broker.

Applying to Become a Texas Real Estate Broker
To be eligible to apply for a real estate Broker License, an individual must be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien, eighteen (18) years of age or older and a legal resident of Texas. If the applicant is a resident of another state, the applicant must be licensed by that state as a real estate broker.

To be eligible to apply for a real estate Broker License, an individual must furnish the Commission satisfactory evidence of successfully completing the following:

Not less than two (2) years active experience in Texas as a licensed real estate salesperson or broker during the 96 month period immediately preceding the filing of the application;
or
If licensed as a broker in another state, not less than two (2) years active experience as a licensed real estate salesperson or broker during the 36 month period immediately preceding the filing of the application.

270 classroom hours of core real estate classes.

An additional 630 classroom hours in related classes acceptable to the Commission.

Evidence of successful class completion shall be presented via credit transcript or certificate accompanying an application. DO NOT submit original transcripts and/or class completion certificates. Keep the originals for your personal files and send photocopies to the Commission.

To be eligible to apply for a real estate Broker License you must first obtain a letter from the Commission attesting to satisfaction of all education requirements. THE EVALUATION OF EDUCATION DOCUMENTS MUST BE PERFORMED BEFORE THE APPLICATION CAN BE FILED.
To obtain an evaluation of your education documents, submit a Request for Evaluation of Education Documents.

A fee of $20.00 is required for the evaluation of education documents for the purpose of determining if education requirements have been satisfied. This fee is good for one year. Please submit copies of your transcripts or class certificates with your request for evaluation. DO NOT submit original documents.

The following required fees must be submitted at the time of filing an application. AN APPLICATION RECEIVED WITHOUT THE APPROPRIATE FEES WILL BE REJECTED AND RETURNED. The following fees should be submitted in ONE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER payable to the Texas Real Estate Commission. ALL FEES LISTED BELOW ARE NONREFUNDABLE.
Fees Required with Real Estate Broker License Application
Fee Amount Comment
Original Application $295.00 Required for all applicants
Recovery Fund $10.00 Required for all applicants unless previously paid

License examinations are administered by PSI. Once your application has been received, processed and accepted, a Candidate Information Brochure (CIB) will be mailed to you within 48 hours. The CIB will provide all the information and instructions for making a reservation to take the examination. The CIB also contains study material and instructions about licensing (Note: you may download a copy of the CIB from PSI's web site via the Candidate Info. Brochure link in the menu on the left side of this web page).

The filing of an application authorizes an investigation of the applicant's background. Information revealed in an investigation may be cause for disapproval of an application even though other requirements for a license are met. If an investigation is necessary, it may not be conducted until the applicant has passed the examination.

State law prohibits issuing more than one license after a licensee has defaulted on a student loan guaranteed by the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation (TGSLC) unless the licensee has entered into a repayment agreement with TGSLC. YOU SHOULD CONTACT TGSLC BEFORE FILING THIS APPLICATION if you have defaulted on a student loan. An application or renewal may be rejected if this agency has received information from TGSLC that the applicant has defaulted on a student loan. The Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation can be contacted at:

Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation
P.O. Box 15996
Austin, Texas 78761-5996
Telephone: 1-800-222-6297

The time involved in processing an application depends on work volume. Inquiry as to the status of an application delays processing work. Inquiry should not be made unless there is reason to believe that information submitted to the Commission has not been received.

An incomplete application will not be returned for completion. A letter will be mailed requesting the incomplete information.

The examination must be passed within six months from the date the application is filed with the commission office.

You are not authorized to perform any act for which a real estate license is required until an ACTIVE Texas Real Estate Commission license is in your possession.

Go pass you texas real estate exam!