What is required to get a license?

For salespersons:

  • Proof of age 19 and above.
  • Proof of completion of 40 hour Pre-License Education.
  • Complete and pass the real estate examination.
  • Errors and Omissions Insurance.
  • Complete and submit the application form.
  • Fees: Examination Fees (Salesperson: $100). License (Salesperson: $390 which includes application fee, license fee and recovery fund fee)

For associate brokers:

  • Proof of age 19 and above.
  • Proof of completion of Pre-License Education.
  • Errors and Omissions Insurance.
  • Affidavit of Licensee Experience signed by your supervising broker(s) confirming your licensee experience (24 months within the immediate 36 months prior to obtaining your initial Broker license).
  • License history/certification from each jurisdiction where you hold or have ever held a Real Estate license.
  • Complete and submit the application form.
  • Fees: Examination Fees (Associate Broker: $100). License (Associate Broker: $50 if remaining in the same office, $225 for transfer).

For brokers:

  • Proof of age 19 and above.
  • Proof of completion of Pre-License Education.
  • Errors and Omissions Insurance.
  • Affidavit of Licensee Experience signed by your supervising broker(s) confirming experience. Verification that you worked as a licensee for at least 24 months within the immediate 36 months prior to obtaining your initial Broker license in another jurisdiction.
  • License history/certification from each jurisdiction where you hold or have ever held a Real Estate license.
  • Complete and submit the application form.
  • Fees: Examination Fees (Broker: $100). License (Broker: $50 if remaining in the same office, $225 for transfer).

What score do I need to pass?

The salesperson exam has two portions, general practice and Alaskan Law. There are 80 general practice questions and 40 State Law questions.

The associate broker and broker exams have two portions, general practice and Alaskan Law. There are 80 general practice questions and 60 State Law questions.

There can be 5-10 "Pre-Test" questions in each category. These questions are being tested by Pearson VUE and don't count against a passing grade. Pre-test questions are not identified on the exam, so examinees must answer every question on the exam. If your exam has any pre-test questions, the quantity will be listed as a number in the content outline heading of your individual exam. If a number is not present, then there are no pre-test questions for that particular exam.

There are multiple versions of each real estate exam administered in Alaska and each version can vary slightly in difficulty. To determine a score, Pearson VUE uses a statistical procedure known as equating to help correct for differences in exam difficulty. The exam score is reported as a scaled score from 0-100, but that number doesn't represent the percentage or number of questions answered correctly. A passing score is 75, while any score below 75 indicates how close the candidate came to passing- not the actual number or percentage of questions answered correctly.

You will receive your score immediately after you complete your exam.

How much time do I have to complete the exam?

  • Examinees for the salesperson, associate broker and broker exam have four hours to complete the exam.

What should I bring with me for the exam?

  • 2 Forms of identification with matching names, non-expired and containing a valid signature. (Driver's license, passport, green card, U.S. social security card, debit or credit card with signature). If your name on your registration is different than on your identification, you must bring proof of your name change.
  • Basic (non-scientific) calculator.

What is the format of the exam?

The exam is given on a computer.

What is on the exam?

You can view each exam's Content Outline in the Content section of the Candidate Handbook.

Resources